1 (edited by RobT 2016-09-17 15:00:36)

Topic: Leaking Well Tank

Howdy everyone! My name's Rob, and I'm completely new to both this Forum as well as plumbing and well systems.

First let me give a tremendous thanks for this forum and the 411plumb article website (how I found you guys on Google)! I can't begin to tell you how nice and important it is for others (especially pros) to help folks in trouble learn to actually fix their own homes through diy projects. I realize of course that there certainly are times when having a pro do the entire job is necessary (as was the case when our well pump died about 4 years ago, what a glorious $1,100 surprise!), but I'm surprised at how much homeowner's can actually do themselves with just a bit of know-how...

So, here's my situation: we got home last and noticed that our linoleum floor was very wet around our well pressure tank (Shur-Dri SD-AT4, 36 gallon/82 equiv, diaphragm tank). The water's dripping pretty good from the bottom of the tank base at it's lowest point. Without seeing much inside of the base where the plumbing connects to it (why they make the connection on the underneath surrounded by a metal base with simply a hole for the pipe to go through, is beyond me), I'm guessing/hoping that it's simply a loose and/or corroded fitting.

Through reading online, I've tested & determined the following:

1 - pump switch kicks on @ 32psi, and off @ 60psi
2 - factory pre-charge is labeled @ 38psi, but was actually @ 20psi this morning with lowest faucet open and tank empty of water (first time it's been checked since buying the house in 2009, sorry - didn't know that I neede to keep an eye on it...)
3 - only air comes out of the air valve on top when depressed, no moisture (so although it may have a leak, the diaphragm hasn't burst)
4 - I recharged it back up to 30psi (2psi below the switch's on psi setting)